Energy and Natural Resources Committee gets Two New Members

    Juneau, AK (KINY) - The Energy and Natural Resources Committee received two more members and were adopted by the full Senate.

    Republican Senator Shelly Moore Capito of West Virginia and Democratic Senator Tina Smith of Minnesota will join Lisa Murkowski, who is the chairman, on the committee.

    Capito returns to the committee after previously serving during the 114th Congress. Smith was recently appointed to her seat, following the resignation of Al Franken. Smith will also be standing for election in November for Minnesota.

    Murkowski and Democrat Maria Cantwell of Washington (the committee's ranking member)stated via a press release,

    “We welcome Sens. Capito and Smith to our committee and look forward to working with them on a wide range of energy, lands, water, and resource issues throughout the remainder of this Congress.”

    “Together with the rest of our committee, we believe we are poised for a productive 2018 that will hopefully include a number of long-sought bipartisan accomplishments.”

    More from News of the North

    Crude Oil Price

    Current Conditions