Four finalists for Alaska teacher of the year

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) The State released the names of four outstanding teachers being considered for a prestigious state award this fall.

    The Alaska Department of Education and Early Development released the names of four teachers who are finalists for teacher of the year in 2018.

    • Kent Fielding, English Teacher, Skagway High School, Skagway SD

    • Karen Martin, 4th Grade Teacher, Tri-Valley School, Denali Borough SD

    • Eric Rush, 3rd Grade Teacher, Ticasuk Brown Elementary, Fairbanks North Star Borough SD

    • Ben Walker, Science Teacher, Romig Middle School, Anchorage SD

    Alaska Education Commissioner Michael Johnson said it is an honor to recognize these exceptional teachers, “Mr. Fielding, Ms. Martin, Mr. Rush and Mr. Walker are models of outstanding teaching and leadership, and selflessly serve their students and their communities.”

    DEED spokesperson Cecilia Walker said interviews with the candidates take place Friday and an announcement on the winner is expected in a couple of weeks.

    More from News of the North

    Crude Oil Price

    Current Conditions