Update: All Juneau Assembly and School Board Seats to be Contested

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) - All seats for the Assembly and the School Board will be competitive in the October 3 local election.

    All races in the October 3 election will be competitive.

    Long time resident Loretto Jones filed for the assembly district 1 seat Friday and will face Jesse Kiehl and Chuck Collins.

    She came to Juneau in 1977 to work for the National Weather Service. Jones has since earned a Master's Degree in English from the University of Alaska.

    Chuck Collins, a longtime Juneau business owner, also filed on Monday for the District 1 seat.

    Rob Edwardson filed this morning (Monday) for the Assembly District 2 seat now held by Debbie White. Edwardson works as staffer to Juneau Representative Justin Parish and has a long history with the Coast Guard.

    Maria Gladziszewski is seeking re-election to her areawide seat. She will face competition from Carole Triem, who was an Economic Development Advisor for the state.

    School Board President Brian Holst, nineteen year old Kevin Allen, and newcomer Jeff Short have filed so far for the two school board seats on the ballot this year. Allen, who is enrolled at UAS, filed Monday afternoon.

    Long time incumbent Sean O’Brien is not seeking re-election.

    The filing deadline was at 4:30 p.m. on Monday.



    More from News of the North

    Crude Oil Price

    Current Conditions