Several incumbent state legislators ousted in primary election

    About 15% of registered voters turned out for the primary election, and about twice as many chose the Republican-only ballot.

    On the Anchorage hillside, the state's oldest elected official, Representative Bob Lynn, was defeated by former Assembly Member Chris Birch.

    Wasilla republicans chose Firefighter David Eastman over Representative Wes Keller, and in Palmer, Representative Jim Colver was tossed after one term. Challenger George Rauscher has no opposition in November.

    Democratic primaries in Bethel and Northern Alaska are too close to call, with not all precincts reporting. Representative Bob Herron of Bethel is trailing his challenger, while Representative Bennie Nageak leads by nine votes..

    Some Republican legislators survived primary challenges: in Homer, Paul Seaton, and Lora Reinbold and Dan Saddler are unopposed in the general election in Eagle River.

    In South Anchorage, Represenative Craig Johnson lost his bid for state senate to Natasha von Imhof, and Wasilla Representative Lynn Gattis saw her Senate campaign ended by David S. Wilson, who has a clear path to replace outgoing Senator Charlie Huggins. Democrats chose Tom Begich, brother of Mark Begich, to replace Senator Johnny Ellis in Downtown Anchorage, and Delena Johnson becomes the newest representative for Wasilla, replacing Shelly Hughes, who advances in her own Senate bid.

    Statewide, U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski and Congressman Don Young each scored about 71% in their GOP primaries. Murkowski will face former Republican Moderate Party founder Ray Metcalfe in the general election, and Young goes up against former public broadcasting executive Steve Lindbeck

    More from News of the North

    Crude Oil Price

    Current Conditions