Westlake replacement to be named soon

    Juneau, Alaska (KINY) The names of Leanna Mack of Utqiagvik, Sandy Shroyer-Beaver of Kotzebue and Eugene Smith of Kotzebue have been sent to the Governor for an appointment to the house seat vacated by the resignation of Dean Westlake due to sexual harassment claims.

    Westlake was accused of inappropriate behavior toward female aides. 

    Governor Bill Walker's selection must still be approved by house democrats.  Westlake's resignation took effect on Christmas Day and the Governor has until January 24th to make a selection.


    More from News of the North

    Crude Oil Price

    Current Conditions